news and results from your local league

Week 10

Powered by Drupal
Sun, 25/11/2018 - 21:15 -- Dave Brown
PDF version

A quirk of the fixture list in the Fourth Division meant that three teams boasted a 100% record as we went into week 8 of the league programme. That has now changed after Crawley Ridge D beat Braybrooke B 7-3. The star player, however, was Braybrooke’s Alan Burkey who was unbeaten whilst the Crawley Ridge trio of Eric Wong, Yeuk Wan and David Marchant all won twice. Ash G chalked up their first win of the season when they proved too good for Cody D 7-3. Bob Murrell and Janet Guess were both unbeaten for Ash. Cody C beat Ash F 6-4 but Ash’s Graham Thomas was the unbeaten player. John Asprey and Derek East bagged braces for Ash.

In the Third Division Crawley Ridge C secured their first win of the season, 7-3, against Fleet B. Yuriy Schulzhenko won all three for Crawley Ridge with Richard Hornby supporting with a duo. Tennis G lost for the first time this season when Frimley D edged them out 6-4. Ramesh Vasudavermurthy was unbeaten for Frimley with Brian Greenberg supporting with a pair. Kim Phillips won twice for Tennis. Tennis F has a firm grip on this division helped by their latest success, 8-2, against Crawley Ridge B. Graham McCulley and Andy Barnard were both unbeaten.

In the First Division Central A has established a stranglehold at the top after a whitewash of Frimley A. Phil Snelson, Paul Baker and Peter Millard secured the points. Tennis B and Fleet A shared the spoils with Eliot Tilley undefeated for Tennis. Both Fallon Thompson and David Joyce bagged braces for Fleet. Bentley A easily beat Ash A, 9-1, with Micky Lang and Graham Diplock securing full houses whilst Crispian Knight won a couple. Tennis A eased into second spot with a 9-1 victory over Frimley B. Michael Kwan and Paul Shakespeare recorded trios whilst Dave Jarvis won a couple.

In the Second Division Braybrooke A secured a helpful 6-4 victory over Bentley B. Yizhong Wei won all three for Braybrooke. Robin Street and Paul Farrant each won twice for Bentley. Tennis C whitewashed their E team thanks to the efforts of Shaun Newbold, Mirko Danso and Pu Zhang. Tennis D beat Cody X 8-2 with Peter Bone and Mehrdad Abutalebi winning all their matches. Cody A beat two person Ash C 8-2 with Duncan Sibbick unbeaten for Cody.