news and results from your local league

Week 1

Powered by Drupal
Mon, 08/10/2018 - 18:15 -- Dave Brown
PDF version

The new season started with a clash between current champions, Central A and last season’s runners up, Bentley A. Central have made it very clear that they intend to fight for the title again and chalked up a whitewash thanks to Phil Snelson, Paul Baker and newcomer Julie Lawrence. Central B beat Frimley A 8-2 with Andy Appleby undefeated and team-mates Martin Townshend and Peter Millard recording duos.

In the Second Division Bentley B started with an 8-2 success over Cody A. Paul Farrant and Robin Street were both undefeated for Bentley. Tennis C beat Ash C 7-3 with Nigel Tustin winning all the Ash points with a maximum. Pu Zhang, Dave Hewitt and Shaun Newbold all won twice for Tennis. Ash D beat Tennis E 6-4 thanks to an Andy Clegg full house and a couple from Paul Creamer. George Carder won a couple for Tennis.

The Third Division is shaping up to be as tight as last season. Tennis F shared the points with Cody B with Andy Barnard picking up a trio for Tennis and John Harvey winning twice for Cody. Frimley E and Frimley D also split the points with the D team’s Ramesh Vasudevamurthy unbeaten and Ted Cornell and Gary Smith each winning a couple for the E team. Crawley Ridge B eased past Ash E 6-4 with Corin Moore winning all his matches. Terry French and Les Knight each bagged braces for Ash. Tennis G beat Tennis H 6-4 with the H team’s Charles Burton chalking up a maximum. John Sheehy, Alan Richards and Nigel Roberts all won a couple for the G team.

In the Fourth Division new team Crawley Ridge D started with a 9-1 victory over Cody D. David Marchant and Yeuk Wan were undefeated whilst Derek Lee chipped in with a pair. Tennis J beat Ash F 8-2 with Andrew Cherciu securing a full house and John Page and John Davis winning a couple apiece but both succumbing to Ash’s Graham Thomas. Cody C beat Tennis K 7-3 with both John Asprey and Dave Hewitt unbeaten. The closet match in the division was Fleet C’s 6-4 victory over Ash G. Andrew Hook won all three for Fleet with Sheila Pretty and Bob Murrell each winning twice for Ash.